Painting- Aurora Glow-in-the-dark Wolfman tribute

Ghoul Mourning, Maniacs!!

When I was a Little Monster, I’d love to visit the local Hens & Kelly store. Zipping past whatever was on the ground floor was the plan, to ride the escalator- making that right hook turn at the top, to the toy section! It wasn’t a huge section, but it held some amazing stuff!! I distinctly remember the Gabriel-/Marx Lone Ranger line and the Aurora glow-in-the-dark kits. The two that truly captured my eye, are the Hunchback of Notre Dame and the Wolfman.

These were painted so incredibly by James Bama and really have had a special place in my heart after all these years.

What I wanted to do, was a series of small paintings, devoted to the box art masterpieces. Granted, I realize that I won’t match Bama, brushstroke by brushstroke. I don’t think that is possible for me. Giving my interpretation and giving my love of these works on canvas is good enough for me.

Here is the sequence of sketching and painting this 11×14 acrylic tribute.

20130318-171536.jpg

20130318-171601.jpg

20130318-171612.jpg

20130318-171635.jpg

About monstermattpatterson

Author of "Monstermatt's Bad Monster Jokes Vol.1",sculptor,maskmaker,musician,runner,writer for ZombieInkComics,writer for HorrorNews.net,Coffee Demi-God!
This entry was posted in horror, painting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

