2013:The Beast and Worst of…

Ghoul Mourning, Maniacs!!

2012, seemed to be one heck of a year for me, artistically. Even with knee surgery. I had hoped to bring that spirit and drive into 2013. I had moments, but not any consistency. I really stumbled through 2013. I started with the end of 2012 sticking in my craw, and it wouldn’t let go. I should not have been that affected, but it just brought me down. Getting absolutely brow beaten in my personal life about my love of horror, and involvement in it, by people that can’t conceive of the artistry and spirit, that goes into it. It’s bad enough that my desire to pursue the arts was highly discouraged, almost to the point of being forbidden, during my youth. Those people aren’t my audience anyway. They’re family. I felt kind of ambushed. It really got me off track. I tried like heck to brush it off and go forward. But, I kept having this tentative streak coming on, eating at me. It turned into writer/artist block.

So…

In 2013, I was attached to various film projects, taking on new and larger capacities for me. One, had me on a “stand by, and be ready to roll” kind of status, which was unnerving, because that fella had no clue and kept everyone in the dark, while hiding his mismanagement. It really messed with my time/project management. Plus, everyone else’s, too. I was always waiting for “the call.” That project never panned out, but managed to sap a significant amount of my energy and focus, in the process. The other, didn’t pan out for that particular job, but, I was able to be on the project in an acting capacity.

In the meantime, I was struggling with post knee surgery consistency, too. I had good days and horrible days, which affected my performance at my day job. If I felt good, I tried to accomplish things, both health wise and creatively. If I felt horrible… forget it. It seemed like I took a step forward and twelve steps back, leaving me to scurry to get back on track. My creative output paled in comparison to 2012, I’m still finishing things.

But, I did some worthwhile things, like act in a handful of films, get another book published, sold some paintings and sketches, saw a film I worked on get picked up for distribution, etc.

Let’s look at the positives, here. The negatives can go soak their heads.
In some semi sort of order…

I acted as an extra, in –
A Grim Becoming, Dry Bones, The American Side, and was associate producer/social media person for GoGo Girls vs the Nazis. Sledge, got a distribution deal and a sequel is in the works, with Kane Hodder! Kris Hanson got in his Sledge costume( I made the mask) and hit the horror cons-making friends with FearNet and a Fangoria people.

I kept working on the web comic/web page- Ha-Ha! Horror. I didn’t realize that I’d wind up getting a publisher on board to bring this to life! After working on their bat/magnifying glass logo, Mystery and Horror LLC, signed me as their first author. They were publishing anthologies up until then.

With Ha-Ha! Horror, I did the writing and illustrating- including the cover(my first). This, and a person to person meeting with Chris Alexander, at a con, led to a book giveaway on Fangoria’s website.

I did a handful of conventions, both in Canada and the States. I had the chance to be on a panel with Ashlynne Yennie- Human Centipede and Casper Van Dien-Starship Troopers.

I drew a sketch of a Thom Matthews-Return of the Living Dead, that he signed for a friend and fan, at a horror con. At that same convention, I told my jokes to actors from The Walking Dead, that made them groan beyond belief!

I met my long distance pal, Tomb Dragomir, at Rue Morgue. I had the best time with him! Also, Mitch Markowitz, from Hilarious House of Frightenstein. It was like touching a chunk of my childhood.

Barbie Wilde from Hellraiser:Hellbound joined in on our 6FtPlus podcast, to do some voice acting. To say it was an honor to work with her, would be an understatement.

Steampunk Originals Vol.2 wound up in Previews, a comic book shop’s catalog. I received and sold out of my Vol.2 contributor copies, at comic book conventions.

I started a new job, at my corporate gig. It’s an extension of my old job, but more focused on problem solving. Multiple computer screens and components to keep an eye on. The training lasted a couple of months. I’m told it’ll be close to a year, before I’m completely proficient. That seems to be standard.

The last few months of 2013 have been a nice boost, and I’m truly hoping to carry this through to 2014. Still trying to regain that almost singular focus. No year end ambush, per se. So that helps. Let’s do it. I’m ready.

2014, let’s start with a cup of coffee. I’ll tell you a few jokes, then I’m going to enjoy kicking your butt.

About monstermattpatterson

Author of "Monstermatt's Bad Monster Jokes Vol.1",sculptor,maskmaker,musician,runner,writer for ZombieInkComics,writer for HorrorNews.net,Coffee Demi-God!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

